Month: March 2011

  • Silent Birthday

    When I got acute laryngitis two days ago I kind of knew my birthday would be a fairly quiet affair. And I was right. Today, I’m reading all the dozens and dozens of birthday greetings on Facebook in silence – not because I don’t want to respond with exclamations and LOLs here and there (e.g. when reading Bahrom’s birthday greeting in perfect Swedish), but because I’m still voiceless. In fact, I’m not even supposed to whisper or clear my throat.

    So, what does this voiceless birthday look like? Well, I’m lying on the sofa in front of the telly most of the time, watching Mankell movies and [spooks] or reading Tom Clancy’s latest. I have to avoid comedies since my vocal chords can’t handle laughing at the moment. Now and then, I do have to cough – I can’t help it - and then it’s the weirdest sound earth. Like I’m dying or something.

    Anway, a silent birthday doesn’t mean I’m not celebrating in small ways.

    I had a lovely shrimp salad for lunch.

    And this evening, I’ll do a stirfry of some sort. Also, in-between movies and naps I have hot tea with ginger snaps from IKEA (dunked, of course).

    So, it’s a decent birthday after all, methinks.