July 23, 2005

  • Terrorist Attack in Sharm El Sheikh – Egypt

    I was devastated last night when I heard about the terrorist attack in Sharm – the current number of dead stands at 83!! While living in Egypt, I came to love Sinai, and I’ve stayed in Sharm several times. It’s such a beautiful place. It’s just so sad, not just for the people who were directly affected by this dreadful attack last night, but for Egypt as a whole. So many people are directly dependent on the tourist industry, and with these pictures being beamed around the globe, people will think twice before going to Egypt. I’ve been sending text messages to my friends in Egypt this morning, trying to find out if they are all OK. 

    And this is only two days after a second (failed) terrorist attack in London and one day after police shot a man dead on the London underground. Has the world gone absolutely crazy?

Comments (11)

  • It’s things like this that make us feel like it has.

  • This is WWIII. Just being fought in a different manner. I don’t think this is about the US only.  It is all of us.

  • After Saudi Arabia and London, now Egypt, all places you are attached, must be devasteting for you to see this happening.
    I hope no friends of you will be among the victims.

  • I remember feeling the same way when the US was attacked on 9/11. It’s like the whole world has gone crazy. And God, by any name, wonders why we aren’t all ashamed of ourselves.

  • this is all Bush’s plan to make the world safer. I have friends there as well and am glad they are safe…

  • You don’t realise the terrible things that have happened to ordinary people because of religion and greed

    This happens all over the world  My prayers for all those who have lost loved ones.

  • Yes, the world has gone crazy.  And the problem won’t be solved by more armies dropping more bombs.  The problem will be solved when we finally address the causes of the anger.  We need to talk, not bomb.

  • Last time I was in Sharm al Sheikh was in 1996, about a month before Christmas.  It wasn’t the hot destination it is now, just a few diving places, only one really nice hotel.  Most of the travellers I encountered were more interested in getting to Nuweiba, St. Catherines, or even Taba.  But I met some of the most gracious, charming people there, most of them with Bedouin ancestors, wanderers by nature.  It’s truly a shame such a tragedy there – I don’t agree with the ‘war on terror’, but can’t see how anyone could justify that kind of attack either.

  • Truly sad. This administration causes death-through the war, and doubt and despair in the millions of Americans. Will this stop? I believe we need to start with ourselves, and by that, I mean we must change ourselves before we can see changes in the world.

  • It can’t truly work, I think this way. ! - !. In my view everybody must go through it. my check look. Nice one best 2 ->. Of course, the writer is completely fair.

  • To my mind one and all must browse on it. 2 2 1. Well, I don’t really suppose this is likely to have effect. 4 1 web. This will not actually have effect, I think so. 1 2 2. Quite effective material, lots of thanks for the article.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *